Logo Transparent | Odessa Memorial Health Center

Level V Trauma Center

What Is a Level V Trauma Center: Trauma Center Levels Explained

While all patients must receive the correct treatment for their injuries, the severity of patients’ needs can sometimes be misjudged. Knowing about trauma centers and varying levels will help patients understand the care and resources they need, as well as what they are likely to get.

For example, Odessa Memorial Healthcare Center is a Level V trauma facility that provides emergency care to all our patients with a 25-bed hospital facility. In addition, we offer family medical care to patients and their families irrespective of age, gender, or disease.

But first, let’s look into what a trauma center is and the different levels they are categorized into.

What Is a Trauma Center?

Although they may seem similar, trauma centers differ from emergency rooms. When evaluating patients, paramedics assess the injury and decide if a patient needs an emergency room or if they require a more intense trauma room.

Emergency rooms treat patients with injuries like broken bones, heart attacks, mild burns, vomiting, and even stomach pains.

Typically, trauma centers are located inside emergency rooms for treating patients with extreme injuries sustained during fires, gunshot or stab wounds, vehicle crashes, and even cardiac arrests. Trauma centers treat those patients where the injury is severe, and chances of survival are low.

Patients must be evaluated accurately to provide them with the care and need as per the severity of their injuries.

Levels In Trauma Centers

Trauma centers are categorized based on two premises—designation and verification. The designation process is outlined at the state or local level. The criteria outlined by the authorities are used to designate the levels of trauma centers.

Although there are five different levels for trauma centers, they can vary from state to state. For example, a trauma center classified as Level I in one state could be a Level II in another. Trauma centers can also be classified into adult trauma facilities or pediatric trauma facilities. There can also be a variation, as a Level I pediatric trauma center could be a level two adult trauma facility in another state.

The American College of Surgeons (ACS) evaluates the care and services provided by the trauma center. It modifies and refines the process to improve care quality. Additionally, the ACS verifies that the trauma centers as designated are equipped with the essential resources needed to treat patients.

Usually, the verification result by the ACS is relevant for three years, after which the center then requires a re-verification to function without any interruptions. So, it is vital to identify the guidelines or criteria that each trauma has to meet to be designated an accurate trauma center level.

Level I

A Level I trauma center provides 24-hour coverage by general surgeons and has prompt access to specialized surgeons in orthopedics, radiology, anesthesiology, neurology, plastic surgery, internal medicine, and pediatric care.

Level I is the highest level for any trauma center. Level I trauma centers are comprehensive centers that provide care and rehabilitation for any minor and major injury.

Level I trauma centers are also learning centers as they offer medical students comprehensive teaching programs and research opportunities. The centers also have a quality assessment program to provide top-notch services.

Level II

Level II trauma centers provide similar care as Level I trauma centers. However, they do not necessarily offer learning or research opportunities to the service providers or medical students. A Level II trauma center can offer its patients definitive care and provide the presence of general surgeons 24/7. Level II trauma centers also incorporate a thorough quality assessment.

Similar to Level I, Level II trauma centers also provide immediate specialized coverage by qualified surgeons in radiology, orthopedics, plastic surgery, internal medicine, critical care, and neurology. The centers that provide microvascular surgery, hemodialysis, and cardiac surgery may be Level I trauma centers.

Like Level I, Level II trauma centers can also treat both adult and pediatric cases of trauma injuries. In addition, a few Level II trauma centers provide learning and research opportunities to the staff providing services at the centers.

Level III

Level III trauma centers provide demonstrated critical and emergency care to patients. The centers are charged with assessing, resuscitation, intensive care, and stabilizing injured patients brought into the center. Most Levels III’s are usually community hospitals or provide additional assistance to rural or community hospitals.

Level III trauma centers aim to provide emergency care for patients. In addition to general surgeons, Level III trauma centers also provide access to anesthesiologists. However, Level III centers are not equipped with neurological resources to help patients.

They have transfer agreements to Level I or II if patients require additional care and support. Level III trauma centers also have active public outreach programs and apply preventive efforts for quality care. Additionally, they provide nursing and other medical services as well as learning opportunities.

Level IV

Level IV trauma centers can provide initial evaluation, stabilization, and emergency care to patients. The centers provide emergency care before transferring the patients to a high-level trauma center. In addition, level IV centers also offer life support to patients in their care. The central premise of Level IV centers is to provide comprehensive 24-hour care to injured patients and are certified Advanced Trauma Life Support centers.

A Level IV trauma center has 24-hour laboratory facilities and the availability of trauma nurses and physicians for patient care on arrival. Additionally, Level IV trauma centers can provide critical care surgeries to patients if necessary and available.

Level IV trauma centers also have transfer agreements if patients require more critical care from a Level I or Level II center. Like the other high-level trauma centers, Level IV must also assimilate a comprehensive quality assessment program. Level IV trauma centers should also be actively involved in prevention activities and community outreach programs.

Level V

A Level V trauma center is charged with providing emergency services like evaluating, analyzing, diagnosis, and preparation for transfer to advanced trauma centers like I and II. Level V trauma centers are also charged with providing Advanced Trauma Life Support (ATLS) to their patients.

A Level V trauma center is equipped to provide basic emergency care to patients. Patients on arrival have access to trauma nurses and qualified physicians. A Level V center may not operate in a 24/7 time frame. However, in case of emergencies or as required, the work hours could be extended to provide quality care to patients. If required, Level V centers can be empowered to do emergency surgeries.

Level V trauma centers should have transfer agreements to transfer critical patients to Levels I, II, or III.

Odessa Memorial Healthcare Centers focuses on providing their patients quality healthcare services. Furthermore, the facility offers 24/7 Level V trauma care and offers essential ambulance services for helping their patients.

If you have any questions, get in touch with Odessa Memorial Healthcare Center to know more about the services provided under the blanket of Level V Trauma Center. You can call us at (509) 982-2611 or view our locations here.